Sisal

I am thinking about putting sisal rugs in several rooms in the new house.  Sisal is a natural fiber.  The fibers are from the Agave plant.  It comes in a variety of colors (mostly natural looking).  Right now, my thought is to custom order it and put a canvas fabric border around the edges.  I will most likely have it in the master bedroom, living room, and family room.  It is not easy to find in Oklahoma.  One guy looked at me like I was crazy when I asked him for it.  Another salesperson had to special order a sample packet for me.  I know it’s everywhere on the west coast, but I guess it’s not too popular in “Old World” Oklahoma.  Sisal gives wonderful organic look to a room, while also providing texture and shine.

The pictures below are from Masland Carpets and Rugs

www.maslandcarpets.com

Here are a couple of pictures I found of sisal in rooms.

sisal-rug-natura

seagrass-rug-cotedetexas1

http://www.elizabethannedesigns.com/living/2009/03/03/green-rugs/

3 thoughts on “Sisal

  1. Hi Stacy – my name is Rachel and I wrote the post you saw on Elizabeth Anne Designs about sisal and other natural fiber rugs.

    I’m actually a sales rep for a designer rug and carpeting trade showroom in Dallas – and we sell tons of sisal! I have lots of clients in Oklahoma, and if you’re interested, I would be happy to send you samples and answer any questions you might have.
    Feel free to email me and let me know!

    Great blog by the way – I love the paint colors you’ve chosen so far!

  2. I know it sounds weird, but have you tried Home Depot or Lowes? Ours have multiple sisal choices and I truly don’t think you could tell a difference once it was in the home. It’s not like other rugs where you may or may not be able to tell the quality just by looking.

Leave a Reply

