Sonoma Tile

Sonoma tile is one of my favorite companies for ceramic and glass tile.  It is pricey, but in my opinion, it’s worth it. You can find your basic ceramic tiles for about $3-$8 a sq. ft.  Sonoma will run you about $8-$18 sq. ft.  That is a big difference, especially if you have a large area to cover. 

Most of the Sonoma ceramic is hand-glazed.  They have several different lines and endless color choices.  I like a more sleek old-fashioned look to tile.  I like it to be glossy and really shimmer with light.  Here are a few of my favorites.

http://www.sonomatilemakers.com/

All of these pictures were taken at SW Tile in OKC.

In the above photo you can really see the detail in each hand-glazed tile.  The color varies throughout the tile giving it a truly artistic look. 

In this phot you can see all of the specialty peices that you can add to field tiles.  The combinations are endless.  In fact, it overwhelms me sometimes to think about all the different patterns you could use.  Field tiles tend to cover the largest area of space.  Most of the time they would be a subway, 4×4 square, or 6×6 square.  Then you use these to add a little pazazz to the pattern. 

Here you can see the beautiful pattern they’ve created.  I think this would look great a chairrail height. 

Here is another picture of all the different colors.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

My Thoughts About Colored Tiles

I love all of the beautiful colored tiles I have shown you today, but I thought I would add my two-cents about colored tile.  It can be beautiful in a bathroom or kitchen, but there are some drawbacks to consider.  Not everyone likes the same colors and patterns.  Some colors and styles go out of style quickly.  That being said, unless you have deep pockets (let’s face it, most of us don’t), you aren’t going to want to rip out and change your bathroom every 5 to 10 years.  Also, you have to think about resale.  In every decision you make for your house, resale should ALWAYS be considered.  Most of the time it is best to go with a neutral color palate.  This does not mean BORING!  I did some fun, funky things to my last house, and it sold in one day!  I chose to do a vertical stripe in my bathroom with beige ceramic tile and brown glass.  These are colors that don’t tend to turn people off.  But the pattern was super fun and went with the style of the house.  I also did black and white bubble diamonds in the other bathroom.  It was very whimsical, but again went with the style of the house.  Always consider they style of your house.  If you live in a 1970’s contemporary house, it’s probably not a good idea to put in Cape Cod decor–too traditional for the house. Do you get my drift.  Keep it streamlined. Most people that come to look at your house do not have an imagination.  They can’t see past what’s already there. I don’t think all the same colors need to be throughout the house, but I do think the same style needs to run throughout.   I will do another post about this subject soon!

Leave a Reply

