Kitchen Update

I would not call myself a patient person.  I struggle with patience; therefore, this kitchen project has really been difficult for me.  We are now about 3 weeks past the date my carpenter said we would be finished.  It might not be so bad if I didn’t have a 9 month old baby.  If he (the carpenter) keeps at the pace he’s at right now, I would say it will be at least another two weeks for him to finish the woodwork.  I really wanted to have the kitchen totally complete (cabinets, paint, granite, appliances installed, hardware attached, etc.) by the end of October.  I still think we can do it, but it’s going to be close…  I know it will be worth it in the end.

I know we absolutely had to start over.  The former kitchen was just in too bad of shape, but I really did not expect it to go this long.  That’s life, though!  Things are not always on our time schedule.  And in the grand scheme of things, this is really not that big of a deal.  I keep reminding myself of that!  And it makes me feel better!  I’m so thankful for this kitchen.  It will be a great place for our family and for entertaining.

Here are a few new pictures of the kitchen right now.  You can really start to see the transformation!  YAY!

This view is from the family room looking in.  On the far wall is the refrigerator compartment and under-counter drawers.  On the wall, there will be upper cabinets with doors (not installed yet). In the forefront of the photo is the peninsula that divides the kitchen from the breakfast area.  He still needs to build the wall around the back of the cabinets.  We will have a bar that comes out from the wall.  Previously, it was two levels–counter height on the kitchen side and bar height on the breakfast room side.  We are making the entire area counter height.  I really think this will open the room up and provide a great serving space.  I already bought some cute counter-height bar stools! YAY!

The photo below is the front of the peninsula.  This is where my farmhouse sink will go.  I don’t like how he’s designed the base for the sink.  It needs to be mitered around where they sink curves.  This is a square box.  So he and I will have to come up with something different.  The trash cans will go to the right of the sink.  The range will go to the right of the trash cans.

These tall cabinets are on either side of my laundry room.  The bottom half is drawers and the top half is glass doors.

This is one of my favorite things about the kitchen!!!  I’m so glad we decided to put the boards on the ceiling.  It gives the room texture and adds that custom look.

My carpenter finally brought the hood over.  I’m so relieved.  It looks exactly how I wanted it to look!  I think it will beautiful above the range.

6 thoughts on “Kitchen Update

  1. I know you mentioned this in an earlier post, but I just had to ask about the ceiling wood planks. I absolutely love the look of them! Are those just unfinished wood floors?

    • Thank you! Everything in the kitchen will be white, including the ceiling. The floors are a ceramic tile. They are like a blackish-brown color. I got them at Classic Tile here in OKC. They are 48×12. I know people put wood floors in kitchens all the time, but I don’t think it’s a good idea. I’ve had refrigerators leak water all over my floor. The kitchen is a messy place, and I wouldn’t want to spend a lot of money on something that could get ruined. Also, I’ve had water damage to wood floors in my last house. We had to replace the entire house bc of damage to one little area! It was a nightmare!

      • Actually I was wondering about the ceiling. (Love the floors too by the way!!) I really love the interest that wood on the ceiling brings. I was wondering though, if the wood planks on the ceiling are just unfinished wood floors that are installed on the ceiling, or were they made custom by your contractor? Thank you!
        PS~ I just came across your blog and I am in love with your style!

      • I’m sorry! I didn’t understand what you were asking. No, they’re not wood floors. Yes, they were made by the carpenter. It’s just like wide bead board planks that fit together. My carpenter made these planks, but from my understanding, you can purchase something similar at your local wood supply store. When the kitchen is painted, they will do the ceiling at the same time. In my opinion, wood in the kitchen should be sprayed, not hand painted. This will give you a smooth finish with not stroke marks. It’s a tedious process. They have to sand and paint several times. When we finally paint the kitchen, I will probably have to move out the house for 3 to 4 days. Thank you so much for the kind words! The blog has been so much fun!

Leave a Reply

