The Kitchen Faucet

You would think it wouldn’t be that difficult to pick out a faucet, right?  Well for me, it is.  There are so many varieties and colors.  And if you’re like me, what you like the look of, might not be the most practical…  And, unfortunately, your faucet must be user-friendly.  My new sink will be a part of a peninsula in my kitchen; therefore, the area behind my sink is completely open.  Most sinks have some sort of wall with backsplash tile.  The trend lately is very tall faucets.  Again, because it is so open, I don’t think a really tall faucet will look good.

I love the look of faucets with two handles, but this does not work well for me in the kitchen.  I cook and bake often, so a single handled faucet is more user-friendly for me.  It is easier to adjust the temperature of the water with one handle.  I know it sounds like I’m being ultra-picky, but when you’re spending a lot of money on something you want to buy the thing that best meets your needs.  This is why, for a lot of people, hiring a designer can be so helpful.  A good decorator should ask you these kind of questions.

Here are a few pics of faucets I LOVE but would not be practical for me…

These faucets are called either bridge faucets or cross handle faucets.  It has a great old-fashioned look.

Foto 9

Photo from Belgian Pearls Blog

8

Photo from Belgian Pearls Blog

10

Photo from Belgian Pearls Blog

Photo from Cococozy Blog

image

Photo from Cote de Texas Blog

image

Photo from Cote de Texas Blog

image

Photo from Cote de Texas Blog

Wall mounted faucets are also very special and unique.  It’s really only possible if you are totally remodeling your kitchen, as the plumber would need to run the pipes up the wall and the tile would be set after the holes were made.
Here are some photos of beautiful wall mounted faucets.
Foto 4
Photo from Belgian Pearls Blog
Foto 18
Photo from Belgian Pearls Blog
31
Photo from Belgian Pearls Blog
image
Photo from Cote de Texas Blog
kitchens - Benjamin Moore Iceburg - white cabinets stainless steel farmhouse sink yellow dining chair glass pendants kitchen  bright, sunny kitchen!
Photo from Decorpad Blog

I like to use single handled faucets.  It’s easier for me to control the temperature of the water while I’m busy cooking or holding a baby.  Surprisingly, it was difficult to find one that I liked the looks of.
Here are some photos of single handled faucets.
image
Photo from Cote de Texas Blog
Photo from Cote de Texas
I chose a Moen single handled faucet from their Vestige collection.  It just so happens to be the same faucet I had at our previous home.  It’s not too tall, so I can still see over it into the family room while working at the sink.
Moen CA7065

3 thoughts on “The Kitchen Faucet

  1. Yes indeed! It isn’t obvious to choose for the right faucet! So hard to choose because there are so many different types and brands!
    Great post!
    xx
    Greet

Leave a Reply

