My Only Collection

Hi friends!  I’m sorry I’ve been MIA for so long.  It has been CRAZY around our house the last few weeks.  The kitchen is finished except for a few minor details!  We had my son’s first birthday party at our house on Saturday.  It was a great motivator to get the kitchen finished.  I promise I will post pics soon.  I’m having a little trouble with my computer.  Until then, I would like to share one of my favorite things–Christmas ornaments.

I would not call myself a collector.  I don’t really collect anything (it’s too much work!), except for Christmas ornaments.  My husband even helps contribute to this collection.  When we travel, we like pick up ornaments from each of the places we visit. We always have our eyes peeled for a special ornament to bring home.  Ornaments are really trinkets in the best since.  I don’t really like clutter, so this is a great way for me to keep a memento from our journeys without having junk everywhere!

Every year, I unwrap each ornament, and it brings back such wonderful memories of where we visited and how much fun we had together.  Now, not all ornaments are from our travels.  I also have many ornaments that I just like or represent some aspect of our lives.  In some way, our tree represents our life–what’s special or important to us.  It tells a story.

Ornaments can be tricky.  And I’m picky (no rhyme intended!).  I prefer to buy blown glass ornaments.  I love the color and shine of them on the tree.  You can’t always be so picky when you travel.  Sometimes you can’t find an ornament at all.  This always frustrates me!  It was especially difficult in Europe.  My husband and I were on a mission in every city we visited.  If there was an ornament in that city, we were going to find it!  I think we did a pretty good job on our last European vacation.

Here are a few of my favorite ornaments with a corresponding photo of us on vacation.

San Francisco Trolley Car

Me riding a trolley car on San Francisco!

Golf bag from Pebble Beach, California.

Hubby and me at Pebble Beach.

Painted scene from Carmel, California.  If you haven’t been to this gorgeous little town, you’re missing out!  It is so beautiful.  It’s like a scene from Hanzel and Gretel.

Us in Carmel, California.

Only ornament I could find in St. Lucia.

On our honeymoon in St. Lucia.  Can you believe this view?  This is from the house we stayed in.  Unbelievable!

This ornament is from Florence.  This is the ONLY ornament we saw in Florence.  The shop keeper said she had them specially made for her shop.  She didn’t really understand what it was, but she said the Americans bought them!  It’s a hand-painted view of the city.  It’s one of my most favorite because it’s so detailed.

Us in Florence!

Ornament from Napa Valley, California.  This was from our trip to Napa and Sonoma.  One of my most favorite places ever.  Sonoma has the BEST food I’ve ever eaten.

Ornament from Paris!

Here we are in front of the Eiffel Tower.  Still can’t believe it!

We went to NYC for part of our honeymoon.  We attended a Yankees vs. Red Sox game in the old stadium!

Here we are at the game!

This ornament is from San Giacomo.  What a beautiful, beautiful place..

Here I am in Sienna.  This was seriously one of the coolest moments of my life.  Sipping champange in the square in Sienna.

This ornament is from Fredericksburg, TX.  If you haven’t been there, it’s a great little trip.  It’s a German immigrant town in the hill-country of Texas.  It’s so quaint and beautiful.

This is where we stayed in Hill Country.  It’s called The Inn Above Onion Creek.  It was very quaint and charming.

This ornament is from one of our trips to Santa Fe, New Mexico.  I LOVE Santa Fe.  It is one of the only places in America that is truly unique.  It has its own south western culture.  Yes, there are some Spanish influences, but the Native American artistic influences along with the American western aspects make it a special place.

I really hope this post either inspired you to travel, inspired you to collect ornaments or BOTH!  I really enjoyed taking a walk down memory lane.  This makes me want to pack my bags and go somewhere fabulous.  Not so easy anymore with a baby!

4 thoughts on “My Only Collection

  1. Jason and I love Carmel. It was one of the first places we went when we moved back. We are not that far. We also love Napa Valley. We went there on our third anniversary trip. So fun! We are not far from there either (one of the things I love about where we are.) We are also about 45 minutes from San Fran. We haven’t made it up there since the move but I’m sure we will soon. 🙂

  2. Dear Stacy,
    Thank you so much for stopping by today!! You asked me for the kind of wood we use if it is painted. Well as your carpenters say, maple is indeed a good wood to paint. Sometimes we also use tulip wood in combination with Mdf.

    I so love your posts Stacy!! And what a good idea to bring something from every place in the world you went!!
    Have a wonderful weekend Stacy!
    xx
    Greet

  3. Loved your ornaments and your picture idea. Beautiful ornaments and pictures. Wonder where you got the idea of buying ornaments when you travel? It’s a good one.

Leave a Reply

