Changes to the Blog

Hi friends!  Hope you’re having a happy summer!  It’s getting extremely hot here in Oklahoma.  So we are swimming a lot and generally having a great time with friends and family.

Change is a part of life, right?  Well, without being aware of it, this blog has changed.  In a good way, I hope!  I’m pretty much finished with the major remodel projects around my house.  I’m still working clients’ homes (which is my love).  The more I work on other projects, the more I come to understand all of the nuances of design. A few years back, I was a teacher.  I come from a family of teachers, so naturally I want to teach and explain why I design the way I do.  I even like to explain other great designers rooms.  I like to dissect rooms to understand why it makes you feel a certain way.  Design, is feeling and function to me.  Every little detail contributes to the overall look of a room.

This blog has been a blessing in my life. I wouldn’t have a design business without it.  I think it makes people feel comfortable with me.  They know what to expect when they ask me to help them in their homes.  In future posts, I will keep doing what I’ve been doing lately: posting pictures and explaining what makes each room is so special.  I might also throw my opinion in about certain styles.  There’s not really a style of design that I don’t like.  Just as every personality is different, so should every home be different.  Your home is a refection of you!

So I will leave you with something that inspires me today. I’m obsessed with wallpaper. You have to have a bold personality for many wallpapers.  This is one I’ve been dreaming about for months.  I love this because it could go so many directions: bohemian, formal, or even nursery.

Hope you all have a great weekend!

 

Leave a comment